Alain Gordon Whyte is an English guitarist, singer and songwriter most known for being Morrissey’s principal songwriting partner since 1991, as well as his lead guitarist from 1991 until 2004. As of Years of Refusal, Whyte has 81 known songwriting credits with Morrissey, including over half of the singles released since joining the UK indie-rock band in 1991.

In the summer of 2009, Whyte collaborated with Mat Devine (Kill Hannah) and Dean Butterworth (Good Charlotte) along with production team Davey Julson-Rieley as producer, and AFI and Green Day mixer Joe McGrath. EP1 was released for digital download on September 14, 2010, and the first single "The Search" was featured in the season premiere of One Tree Hill. Whyte has also pioneered several other projects including: Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams, Red Lightning, and The Gazmen.

Since 2009, Whyte has written for artists including Madonna, Rihanna, Will.I.Am, The Black Eyed Peas, and many others.

In 2013, Whyte worked with American recording artist Chris Brown and co-wrote the song “Don’t Wake Me Up”, which peaked at number 10 on Billboard’s top 100. His work as a songwriter on the single won him an ASCAP pop award in 2013.

In addition to working with some of today’s top artists, Whyte also has written songs for the hit TV series Gossip Girl, Chuck, and Without a Trace. He also has several credits for producing, recording, and mixing.

Whyte's credits with Morrissey include:

Your Arsenal (1992)
* "Glamorous Glue", "We'll Let You Know", "The National Front Disco", "Certain People I Know", "We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful", "You're the One for Me, Fatty", "Seasick, Yet Still Docked", and "Tomorrow”.

Vauxhall and I (1994)
* "Billy Budd", "Hold on to Your Friends", "Why Don't You Find Out for Yourself?", "I Am Hated for Loving", "Used to Be a Sweet Boy", and "The Lazy Sunbathers”.

Southpaw Grammar (1995)
* "The Boy Racer", "The Operation", "Dagenham Dave", "Do Your Best and Don't Worry", "Best Friend on the Payroll", and "Southpaw" – "Fantastic Bird" (only on remastered version)

Maladjusted (1997)
* "Alma Matters", "Ambitious Outsiders", "Trouble Loves Me", "Papa Jack", "Roy's Keen", "He Cried", and "Sorrow Will Come in the End”.

You Are the Quarry (2004)
* "America Is Not the World", "Irish Blood, English Heart", "I Have Forgiven Jesus", "How Can Anybody Possibly Know How I Feel?", "First of the Gang to Die", "Let Me Kiss You", "All the Lazy Dykes", and "You Know I Couldn't Last”.

Ringleader of the Tormentors (2006)
* "I Will See You in Far-Off Places", "Dear God Please Help Me", "The Father Who Must Be Killed", "Life Is a Pigsty", "I'll Never Be Anybody's Hero Now", and "To Me You Are a Work of Art”.

Years of Refusal (2009)
* "Something Is Squeezing My Skull", "Mama Lay Softly on the Riverbed", "When Last I Spoke to Carol", "It's Not Your Birthday Anymore" and "You Were Good in Your Time”.

Swords (2009)
* "Good Looking Man About Town", "Don't Make Fun of Daddy's Voice", "Ganglord", "My Dearest Love", "The Never Played Symphonies", "Shame Is the Name", "Munich Air Disaster 1958", "It's Hard to Walk Tall When You're Small", "Teenage Dad on His Estate", "Friday Mourning", "My Life Is a Succession of People Saying Goodbye", "Because of My Poor Education”

Non-album singles and B-sides
* "Let the Right One Slip In", "There Speaks a True Friend", "Pashernate Love", "Boxers", "Sunny", "Black Eyed Susan", "A Swallow on My Neck", "Whatever Happens, I Love You", "Have-a-Go Merchant", "Nobody Loves Us", "You Must Please Remember", "Heir Apparent", "The Edges Are No Longer Parallel", "This Is Not Your Country" and "I Am Two People”.

Unreleased tracks
* "Action Man", "Teresa, Teresa", "When I Was Young", "I Was Bully, Do Not Forget Me", and "I'm Looking Forward to Going Back" are unreleased tracks from the Years of Refusal sessions.

* "Home Is a Question Mark" is an unreleased track from the 2003 You Are The Quarry recording sessions. A song by this name on Morrissey's 2017 album, Low in High School was composed by Mando Lopez.

Additional songwriting credits with other artists:
* Kid Cudi – "Up Up & Away" – Man on the Moon: The End of Day (2009)
* Blake Lewis – "I Left My Baby for You" – Heartbreak on Vinyl (2009)
* Kid Sister – "Daydreaming" – Ultraviolet (2009)
* Rihanna – "Photographs" (featuring – Rated R (2009)

* Kelis – "Song for the Baby", "Carefree American" – Flesh Tone (2010)
* Cheryl Cole – "Raindrops" – Messy Little Raindrops (2010)
* The Black Eyed Peas – "Play It Loud" – The Beginning (2010)

* Chris Brown – "All About You" (Team Breezy exclusive track) – F.A.M.E. (2011)
* Nick 13 – "Gambler's Life" – Nick 13 (2011)

* Madonna – "Love Spent" – MDNA
* Chris Brown – "Don't Wake Me Up", "Remember My Name" – Fortune
* Joshua Radin – "Lost at Home", "She's So Right" (bonus track) – Underwater
* The Noisettes – "Winner" – Contact

* V V Brown – "10 Ft. Tall" – "Gettin' Dumb" – #willpower
* Benny Benassi – "Dance the Pain Away" (featuring John Legend)

* Reece Mastin - "I Don't Love You Anymore" Change Colours

* Lil Yachty - "Bring It Back" Teenage Emotions